top of page

Meeting Number 155

Toastmaster Meeting 3rd April 24  

Starting at 21:00 Asia/Tokyo

Venue: Online Club

ZOOM online meeting schedule is here,

Word of the Day: galvanize =to make somebody take action by shocking them or by making them excited

  • The win galvanized the whole team.

  • galvanize somebody into (doing) something The urgency of his voice galvanized them into action.

  • galvanize somebody to do something We need new approaches that will galvanize the industry to deal with its problems.

Hi, everyone! Do you appreciate this fascinating season? I do:) I didn’t have a chance to go for a cherry blossom viewing somewhere this year, though. Driving for almost 1 hour to work usually makes me really feel tired, but especially this season, I get stunned to see cherry blossoms blooming at their best while driving… Oops! I may be a reckless driver. haha…

Now let’s start our meeting with our updates. Again, I was impressed with Aki-san, who is one of the empowered and energetic women. I didn’t know that she belonged to 3 chorus clubs as well as being an active member of volunteer groups. Her groups often hold a concert. Aki-san, come to my city some day. I would love to see your performance ;) Kazuko-san realized one of her dreams to finally meet Takako-san and Mikiko-san in person in their place. She enjoyed not only running a marathon race but also spending joyful time with them over lunch. I envy them! Erika-san had a chance to sell soaps at a charity event in her new place where she just moved. She felt blessed to get to know local people. I’m happy for her:) Yuki-san was busy preparing for her business trip to the UK. I hope she will enjoy her stay there by exploring the area she is going to for fun as well. Last but not least, our honorable guest is from Brazil, but she is now living in China as a PhD student. Wow. She is getting used to living there. We really appreciate her attending our club meeting. Thank you, Thaís-san! We are looking forward to seeing you again next meeting:)

Next, the prepared speeches! Tonight we had such experienced Toastmasters.The first speaker is Aki-san! Her speech title is “Welcome to Okunoshima” from Innovative Planning #1-3 - Introduction to Vocal Variety and Body Language. Her speech objectives are: to present a speech on any topic and use vocal variety, or body language and gestures, or both. While listening to her speech, it sounded like she was a real tour guide. She introduced the island by telling the dark-side history and about fun activities people can enjoy now. We got interested in visitng the island. Here are a couple of photos from her.


The second speaker is Takako-san! Her speech title is “My disastrous but precious home” from Engaging Humor #2-1 - Know Your Sense of Humor. Her speech objectives are to deliver a speech that includes at least one anecdote or story intended to entertain or bring humor into the presentation. One day she had several water problems in her 30-year-old house full of lots of good and old memories with her family. She couldn't get enough water for some days as she wanted. That happened all of sudden.She thought of people living in devastated areas and having earthquakes or conflicts there. Those earthquakes or conflicts happened suddenly too. She sincerely hopes that they will find a peaceful place to live with their loved ones as soon as possible. So do other members including me.

The last main session is Table Topic. I prepared 5 questions related to something new, joyful and plans for a new fiscal year ahead when it comes to spring here in Japan:"When was the last time you tried something new?"; "What gets you excited about life?"; "What does your joy look like today?"; "What makes you smile?";"Where would you most like to go and why?"Some questions may have been difficult to answer, but a couple of speakers successfuly shared their episodes using the Word of the day galvanize. Amazingly done! As for me, I didn't make it during the entire meeting. Now let me try to use it here: I have been afraid I couldn't write a blog for our club any more. It takes me a few hours to finish it after taking notes during club meetings. Besides, this school year I am much busier than expected at work. Also, I have become a postgraduate student to study English education. I was about to stop writing it. But the other day I got a message from a big fan of my blog. That made my day! So....my sentence would be like this. Her heartfelt message galvanised me to keep up the work :)

Comments


bottom of page