top of page

Meeting Number 159

Toastmaster Meeting  June 24   Starting at 21:00 Asia/Tokyo Venue Online Club

ZOOM online meeting schedule is here,

Word of the Day:  Buoyant

adjective

  1. tending to float in a fluid.

  2. capable of keeping a body afloat, as a liquid.

  3. not easily depressed; cheerful. Synonyms: sunny, breezy, lighthearted, happy

  4. cheering or invigorating.



Hi, everyone :) June has just started, but it's hot during the daytime in my area, Fukuoka. The rainy season hasn't started yet. I am not looking forward to the tiring season, though.

Tonight I was late for the meeting. By the time I managed to join it, the updates session was over. OMG...I feel bad about not writing any words for everyone's buoyant update. Sorry!


When I entered the meeting room, Ritsuko-san was responsible for the Thought of the Day. She was talking about a cabin near the beach she has been involved with building with her loved one from scratch for the past few years. (Wow! Super!) She realized how crucial it is to set up a foundation with great care, and thought such an idea could apply to everything in our life. I agree!


Joke master, Kazuko-san! The stage is yours! She shared a couple of hilarious jokes: a conversation between a clever monkey capable of speaking human language and a policeman; an elderly woman whose ear felt blocked on an airplane. Both of them cracked me up. What's funnier, she used effective speaking methods such as facial expressions, pitches, and voice tone. She even copied the screeching monkey. What an actress ;) haha... We were all in a buoyant mood :) Thanks, Kazuko-san!


Now, the main session has begun! The first speaker is Erika-san. Her speech title is Ethiopian Mythology.

She is such a world traveler that she has been to many countries including African continents. (Amazing, huh?) In her speech she was not a storyteller but a captain who instructed us about the waterway during the operation of our ship to her stage; she guided us in Ethiopian mythology through her fantastic speech. It was about an adventure that described Perseus, who later rescued Andromeda from being killed by the sea serpent Cetus. When I look up at the starry sky and see them as constellations, I am pretty sure that I will remember her lovely speech ;) Thanks, Erika-san!


The second speaker was one of the experienced speakers Mikiko-san! Her speech title was 'The Goblin’s Trial from Rakugo in English.' In the introduction, she explained what Rakugo is like, including its history and the gadgets used by the Rakugo artist. Ah, she was like a real Rakugo artist. Her performance was excellent because of her costume, her effective usage of voice tone (she played double roles of a man and a Goblin), and her gestures. We were all in another buoyant mood ;) Honorable readers, even if you have never watched a Rakugo, you must have enjoyed her great performance.


Lastly, we had Table Topic session. The master Yuki-san gave us interesting questions created by Chat GPT below. Speaking of which, I have attended a seminar and made a little use of it. But since then, I have never used it because it is sort of scary for me. I am an analogue person as you can imagine. Haha...Anyway, thanks for sharing, Yuki-san!

Oh, before I forget, I will be discharged as a blogger for our club next time. I have another role to take for the new term. The next blog will be the last blog I write, or maybe…this is the last one?! Because around the following meeting I will be struggling with a pile of work to do including assignments for my postgraduate school. Anyway, I’m happy if you have enjoyed reading my blogs and you are in a buoyant mood. ;) Thank you very much for reading, honorable readers!




Comments


bottom of page